Departments

Courses

Teaching Experience

    3.5 Years

Field Experience

    5.5 Years

Howdy! I’m Rebecca (Mrs. Britten or Mrs. B to students). I’m originally from the Dallas/Fort Worth area, though I currently live in the Texas Panhandle in the middle of nowhere (seriously). I am a dual graduate of Texas A&M University (whoop!) with a B.S. in Psychology and an M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction.

My first experience teaching was in college, where I tutored student-athletes in various subjects, including English, Psychology, Logic, and Meteorology. I also worked at the writing center and helped students with every stage of the writing process. I completed my student teaching at two high schools in the Bryan-College Station area. I also worked as an ESL and substitute teacher while I completed my Master’s.

In 2017, I got my first full-time job as a tenth-grade English teacher in a small East Texas town. At the end of the school year, I moved to the Panhandle and taught twelfth-grade English for two years and rekindled my love of music by obtaining my K-12 music certification. The first year there, I taught private trombone lessons after school, and the second, I took a new position as a part-time band director, where I assisted the high school marching band and taught beginner trombone and flute at the middle school.

In March, I welcomed my son into the world. I left my teaching job because of pandemic-related concerns and started teaching online at Luma Learn, focusing on creative writing and music classes. I miss my students, but I am grateful to have found a place where I can share my passion for the arts with others while raising my son.

I am a cradle Catholic. I attended a Catholic school from kindergarten through eighth grade and attended Mass every Sunday and holy day.

In college, my faith grew tremendously thanks to the community at St. Mary’s Catholic Center in College Station. I became involved in the music ministry, playing trombone and piano, and led study groups over Pope John Paul II’s Theology of the Body. I also went on various retreats and learned how to pray the Liturgy of the Hours, both of which deepened my personal relationship with Jesus.

I currently provide the music at the Saturday evening Mass at my church, singing and playing piano and organ. I also help my family incorporate the concept of liturgical living by celebrating holy days and saint feast days with food, decor, and family activities.

I love to read, write stories, watch movies, play board games, paint, and cook. I also play lots of instruments (piano, trombone, flute, French horn, and many more!). I sing in a women’s chorus that is part of Sweet Adelines International, a barbershop singing group, and play trombone in a community band. I also have a YouTube channel, though it has been on hold during these early months with my son.

Please select course :