Departments

Courses

    Teaching Experience

      12 Years

    Field Experience

      12 Years

    Hello. I am a certified teacher living near Toronto, Canada. I am originally from the United States, but moved to Canada almost 20 years ago. I have a Master’s of Science degree in Education. I also have my Math Speciality degree and have additional qualifications in Special Education and Reading, as well as my TESOL with experience teaching ESL students both online and in my brick and mortar school.

    I am a happily married woman and we have 3 beautiful children, 22 years old, 20 years old and 15 years old. Our older son was diagnosed with Autism when he was younger and is now a thriving adult who lives on his own. I spent years working with him both in and outside of school.

    Currently, I teach both online and in a brick and mortar setting. Teaching is my passion! I love what I do and strive to be a better person/teacher everyday. I believe in having a kind classroom and do not accept any form of bullying. I believe that if my students are comfortable in my classroom, they will feel comfortable asking questions and becoming better learners and critical thinkers. I differentiate my instruction dependent upon what the student’s needs are. I like to do “check-ins” regularly with my students to ensure they have a grasp/understanding of what we are learning.

    I enjoy teaching Math, Writing subjects and History. I also look forward to being able to teach religious studies, especially historical classes of this nature. In university I majored in History and took religious history classes during this time.

    **Fun Fact** Before I was a teacher, I served in the United States Navy. I proudly served my country and was honorably discharged a few years later.

    I was raised in a Southern Baptist church from a very young age. I spent all of my young years into my teenage years attending weekly bible studies and summer camps, as well as teaching Sunday school when I was older. I have a very strong faith and believe that God takes care of us and has a reason for our purpose on Earth. When I was in my 20s, I met and later married my husband and we had 3 children. My husband has a strong Catholic faith and we have raised our children in the Catholic faith. They received their education in the Catholic school board in Canada their entire school lives. We attend a Catholic church regularly and have found it very difficult these last few months during COVID to not be able to attend because of our strict lockdowns in Canada.

    I read my bible and study it regularly. We pray daily and live our lives for God. Because I raised Baptist and not Catholic, I have been unable to acquire a job with the Catholic Board in Canada. This meant I had to work for our public board. I wanted nothing more than to be able to teach with God in my teachings. This platform would be a great way for me to be able to teach Bible and Religious Studies and I am so happy about that.

    I believe that in my teachings online, I know I will have to accommodate for a variety of religions and I am very understanding of that. I do not consider myself a “Baptist” or “Catholic” … I consider myself a Christian who believes that God loves every human and living thing on Earth and I DO respect everyone’s own faith journey.

    In my spare time, I honestly enjoy making new classes and lesson plans. Outside of my education interests, I enjoy listening to music, crocheting, reading, being outdoors and spending time with my family. We also love to travel and go to Portugal as often as possible (my husband is from there and his parents are there). I enjoy going to the gym and taking our dog for a walk, as well. My daughter is a competitive soccer player and I enjoy nothing more than going to all of her practices and games. I am also a huge sports fan and love watching basketball, football, soccer and so much more!

    Currently, there are no courses.