Departments

Courses

    Teaching Experience

      12 Years

    Field Experience

      24 Years

    Hello! My name is Jessica Yeager. My journey through the wonderful world of education began in 1992 when I graduated from Ohio University, Athens, with a Bachelor of Science in secondary education and a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish and English. After commencement, I moved to Virginia Beach, Virginia where I taught Spanish and enjoyed the sand and surf. After three years, I grew to mourn the distance of my family and close friends; I returned to Ohio during the summer of 1995. I was promptly offered employment with Lancaster City Schools, Lancaster, Ohio, where I taught both Spanish and English for the next six years. In 2001, I was offered the unique opportunity to run an after-school program for at-risk youth in the Franklinton area of Columbus. With a heavy heart I resigned from my position with Lancaster City Schools, moved to Canal Winchester, and thus began my most important growth as an educator and individual. Serving the needs of those students was an eye-opening experience and truly an education in itself. Unfortunately, the program lost funding the following year; FYI shut its doors. When one door closes, another door opens… I poured over the ODE website searching for employment which is difficult to find after the start of the school year. Curiously, I saw a post for a ‘virtual Spanish teacher’. What? I scratched my head with great intrigue. I had never heard of such a thing. Little did I know that position would shape the next 13 years of my life. Since that time, I have worked as an online Spanish and English teacher and have also served as a school counselor in a virtual environment; I attained my master’s degree in school counseling in 2005. Along the way, I have worn many hats, including IEP District Rep, 504 Plan Coordinator, PSEO/College Credit Plus Advisor, and more. I am so looking forward to the privilege of working with your young person as he/she follows the path through the wonderful world of education!

    My journey in faith began many, many years ago when I was a little girl wearing my pretty, white dress and gold cross at Holy Communion. God, Jesus Christ, The Holy Trinity, etc… all very obscure concepts to such a young mind. Later, Confirmation worked to mature my soul for the walk ahead. As I grew, I understood how my beliefs became the very cornerstone of what defined me. Today, I continue to be a work in progress; however, I live in faith and try to do so accordingly.

    I enjoy reading and writing immensely. It was my goal to be published by the age of 30; I’m now 49. The novel has yet to be completed; but hope springs eternal! Animals are a passion of mine. I have one dog named Angel and three cats: Leroy, Herbie, and Speck. All are rescues and deserving of all the love I can give. I live to get my hands dirty! Nothing is more rewarding to me than watching something grow from the earth. It is truly proof of God’s existence.

    Currently, there are no courses.