Departments

Courses

    Teaching Experience

      10 Years

    Field Experience

      10 Years

    For five years, I taught special education and ELL at the middle school and high school level. The gift of teaching in special education and ELL is that I got to experience nearly every academic area and grade level available! I often had to differentiate, re-create, or make new assignments, graphic organizers, and projects for my students. I also have found that special education teaching techniques, ideas, and methods benefit ALL learners. Additionally, I have co-taught language arts, math, science, social studies, reading, PE, and FCS. I am currently a private tutor and special education advocate. Additionally, I offer services as a homeschool supervisor.

    My teaching style focuses on the individual learner and finding methods and resources to reach each student based on his/her needs. I like non-traditional teaching methods and working with students to be independent learners. I want students to be able to learn and organize information as if I wasn’t even there!

    It’s always an honor to be someone’s teacher. As scripture says, “A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone, when he is fully trained, will be like his teacher.” (Luke 6:40) That is a lot of incredible power in being someone’s teacher. I am passionate about educating the whole child and each child to his or her academic, social, emotional, and spiritual needs. I believe each child has his/her own timetable for learning and all children can learn – just not necessarily at the same time or in the same way! I also am a strong advocate for parent involvement, choice, and rights in the care, education, and treatment of their children. “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

    I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Wartburg College in Elementary Education with endorsements in Reading, Instructional Strategies (SpEd), and ESL. In addition, I have a Master of Education Degree in Quality Schools from Graceland University.

    I grew up in the Lutheran church and currently attend a lovely local Catholic Church with my family. I have always known Jesus but as I continually mature, I now know my NEED for Jesus.

    Family
    Scrapbooking
    Quilting
    Reading
    Baking

    Currently, there are no courses.